Who Miki Kadokura, Art

Designer and illustrator
Miki Kadokura studied economy at Rikkyo University in Tokyo. After working at Nobuo Nakagaki design studio, she founded the Japanese-German design unit »The Simple Society« based in Berlin and Tokyo. In 2017, she launched »MIKIKADO«. From developing community-based products to supporting academic research, MIKIKADO continuously transcends existing media domains to make visible the position of things in the context of society. Her projects sometimes verge on performance art, and she has worked with artists, fashion designers, architects, researchers, and publishers. Her core interest is human behavior as a communication code in socially and culturally marginalized groups. In 2013, she won the Good Design Award (Japan).

Exhibitions
お重g – ROCKET Gallery, Tokyo, Japan
12 Omokage – Suho Paper Museum, Taipei, Taiwan
Simple na Noroi – Pantaloon, Osaka, Japan
Photo Echo – Fort by Port, Tokyo, Japan

www.mikikado.de
Photo: Damien Daufresne (Copyright)




Artist Mission: Our Life Forests (Aging and Entropie)



Ours is a very complex and contrasting image of age(ing): age(ing) is associated, for example, with attributes such as weak, frail, lonely, and sick, but also with wise, enlightened, and free. These contrasting states, which are not mutually exclusive, highlight facets of age(ing) in which society and the individual appear, in a certain way, as separate spheres.

What if, as an experiment, we considered society, the individual, and death as a kind of forest? A forest is a complex living organism, which includes fungi and microorganisms. The entire forest can be considered as a collective life, a collective mind. A single tree feeds its surrounding »children« through an underground microbial network. The death of an old tree eventually gives birth to the next life through decay. This process does not mean dissolution, but a form of energy transfer.

Can’t aging also be seen, in some ways, as a social process of energy and information transfer that occurs slowly but continuously? And what would this mean for our image of age(ing)?




Workshop 1



We, Memory Players 1
Closed event at Caritas & Diakonie

Charcoal is a symbol of condensed time. We draw with charcoal on a large piece of paper. In duet. The participating seniors lead the joint drawing process. With their eyes closed, they draw memories. Their duet partners try to follow or support the movements – like in Aikido or other couple dances. We may find a synchronous moment in the movement. Three to six drawings are our goal. They form the basis for the following workshops.

Photos: TAIFUN (copyright)

→ 360° Video Impressions

Aspects: Social interactions, transgenerational transmission




Workshop 2 (with Yuko Kaseki)



We, Memory Players 2
Wednesday, 11.08.2021
Location and time to be announced


Further information coming soon.

Aspects: Social interactions, transgenerational transmission


→ Registration

Wer Miki Kadokura, Kunst

Designerin und Illustratorin
Miki Kadokura studierte Ökonomie an der Rikkyo Universität in Tokyo. Nachdem sie im Design-Studio von Nobuo Nakagaki gearbeitet hatte, gründete sie die japanisch-deutsche Design-Unit »The Simple Society« mit Sitz in Berlin und Tokio. 2017 rief sie »MIKIKADO« ins Leben. Von der Entwicklung gemeinschaftsbasierter Produkte bis hin zur Unterstützung akademischer Forschung überschreitet sie mit MIKIKADO laufend bestehende Mediendomänen, um die Position der Dinge im Kontext der Gesellschaft sichtbar zu machen. In ihren Projekten, die sich mitunter an der Grenze zur Performance-Kunst bewegen, arbeitet sie mit Künstlern, Modedesignern, Architekten, Forschern und Verlegern. Ihr Kerninteresse gilt dem menschlichen Verhalten als Kommunikationscode in sozialen und kulturellen Randgruppen. 2013 gewann sie den Good Design Award.

Ausstellungen
お重g – ROCKET Gallery, Tokyo, Japan
12 Omokage – Suho Paper Museum, Taipei, Taiwan
Simple na Noroi – Pantaloon, Osaka, Japan
Photo Echo – Fort by Port, Tokyo, Japan

www.mikikado.de
Foto: Damien Daufresne (Copyright)




Artist Mission: Unsere Lebenswälder (Altern and Entropie)



Wir haben ein sehr vielschichtiges und kontrastreiches Bild vom Alter(n): Das Alter(n) wird zum Beispiel mit Attributen wie schwach, gebrechlich, einsam und krank, aber auch mit weise, aufgeklärt und frei verbunden. Diese gegensätzlichen Zustände, die sich nicht gegenseitig ausschließen, heben Facetten des Alter(n)s hervor, in denen Gesellschaft und Individuum auf eine gewisse Art als getrennte Sphären erscheinen.

Was, wenn wir die Gesellschaft, das Individuum und den Tod versuchsweise am Beispiel eines Waldes betrachteten? Ein Wald ist ein komplexer lebender Organismus, der Pilze und Mikroorganismen einschließt. Der gesamte Wald kann als ein einziges Leben und eine einzige Intelligenz betrachtet werden. Ein einzelner Baum ernährt seine umliegenden »Kinder« durch ein unterirdisches mikrobielles Netzwerk. Der Tod eines alten Baumes gebiert am Ende durch Verwesung das nächste Leben. Dieser Prozess stellt keine Auflösung dar, sondern eine Form der Energieübertragung.

Kann nicht auch das Altern auf gewisse Weise als ein sozialer Prozess des Energie- und Informationstransfers betrachtet werden, der langsam, aber kontinuierlich stattfindet? Und was bedeutete das für unser Bild vom Alter(n)?




Workshop 1



Wir, Erinnerungsspieler 1
Mittwoch, 11.08.2021
10.00–12.00 Uhr
Caritas Düsseldorf, Suitbertusplatz 1a, 40223 Düsseldorf


Holzkohle ist ein Symbol verdichteter Zeit. Wir zeichnen mit Holzkohlen auf einem großen Stück Papier. Im Duett. Die teilnehmenden Seniorinnen und Senioren leiten den gemeinsamen Zeichenvorgang. Mit geschlossenen Augen zeichnen sie Erinnerungen. Ihre Duettpartner versuchen, den Bewegungen zu folgen oder sie zu unterstützen – wie beim Aikido oder anderen Paartänzen. Möglicherweise finden wir einen synchronen Moment in der Bewegung. Drei bis sechs Zeichnungen sind unser Ziel. Sie bilden die Basis für die folgenden Workshops und die weitere künstlerische Arbeit.

Fotos: TAIFUN (Copyright)

→ 360°-Video-Impressionen

Aspekte: Soziale Wechselbeziehungen, transgenerationale Weitergabe



Workshop 2 (mit Yuko Kaseki)



Wir, Erinnerungsspieler 2
Zeit und Ort und Zeit werden noch bekannt gegeben.


Weitere Informationen folgen.

Aspekte: Soziale Wechselbeziehungen, transgenerationale Weitergabe


→ Anmeldung